Free Verse

I had a box of random words but dropped them on the tile,
And when I swept them up again I cast them in a pile.
I didn’t try to sort them out or even make a rhyme;
I labeled the whole pile “free verse” and gave it no more time.

A passerby who saw the sign was glad that it was free;
For if I’d tried to charge for that, he’d fear my sanity.
He scooped it all into a bag and shook it all around,
Then dumped another poem where the first one he had found.

The only difference I could see between his poem and mine,
Is his was lacking just one thing–my cardboard “free verse” sign.

Leave a Reply

