The Troll Queen Wants My Dreams

The Troll Queen woke me with her shrill,
“I’m up to here–I’ve had my fill!”
While dream still played on in my head
My heartbeat quickened, pulsed with dread.

“I want you to get every one;
Until you do, you haven’t done.”
I wondered, could she mean the ants?
Was she addressing sycophants?

What manner creature piqued her so?
Though terrified, I sought to know.
I listened in the morning still
To learn the source of dawn-break shrill.

While squinting from Aurora’s beams
That heralded Apollo’s teams,
I listened for the harpy’s screams:
“I want you to take all his dreams.”

Leave a Reply

