Morning Surprise

Woke up late on cloudy morning,
Rain my verdant lawn adorning;
Special gift without forewarning
Left my sanity suborning.

What golden treasure met my eyes?
What caused systolic pulse to rise?
What bounty found I? Do surmise.
A steamy doggie doo surprise!

There they laid in lumpy pile
My lovely carpet to defile,
A few short inches from the tile.
And there sat Fido, with a smile.

All innocence, the cur smiled wide,
Aglow with doggie doo-doo pride.
His work he did not try to hide.
Now smiling Fido lives outside.

Leave a Reply

