Mischance and Resistance while Shopping for Pants

In reply to this WordPress daily writing prompt: Resist.

Extended her an offer that was needless to resist.
For reason inexplicable, the woman’s really pissed.
I’m certain that it wasn’t caused by anything I said,
Nor anywhere I may have accidentally put my head.

The last thing I remember, I was shopping for new pants,
And asked the lady whether she would give my pair a glance.
I then inquired if hers were found half off from time to time,
And said if she could show me hers, I’d be inclined to try ’em.

I guess I must have bumped her slightly as I checked my pair,
For I could not recall the size, and bent to unzip there.
I then remarked, if hers were half off, maybe she could fold ’em;
Or else, if she could give no discount, maybe she could hold ’em?

I really should have known this season’s fashion-setting norm
Includes a dress that looks just like the sales floor uniform.
At least I understand now why the lady was resistant.
She too was only shopping—she was not the sales assistant.

If she’d just said she doesn’t work here, none would be the worse.
Instead, she hits me on the head. And what is in her purse?

Leave a Reply

